Chicken Breast with Red-Wine Sauce (The SparkPeople Cookbook)

25 Mar

Chicken Breast in a Red Wine Sauce

As I’ve said in a previous post, you can view the recipes online, and here is the link that:

–          http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=1486520.

About the Recipe

This is a Chef Meg makeover on Chicken Cacciatore (aka Chicken Hunter Style) (Galvin 197). Chicken Cacciatore has been a dish I’ve wanted to make for some time but have no idea how to describe it. Therefore, according to wiseGEEK.com, Chicken Cacciatore is an Italian stew consisting of chicken, mushrooms, and spices, such thyme and parsley. (If anyone wants to give more insight, please comment below.) What caught my eye and one of the reasons I chose this recipe is it uses red wine; from watching cooking shows on making healthier recipes, wine, be it red, white, etc. can be considered empty calories and replaced in some cases. One note made about wine, and is a general rule of thumb, is to only use wine you would actually drink (Galvin 197).

Ingredients and Shopping

In order to prepare this dish, you will need a medium saucepan with a heavy bottom and a lid. At the first, I thought cast-iron, which can be appropriate to use. However, the use of anything cast-iron is normally specified in the recipe. From talking to a manger at Bed, Bath and Beyond, a heavy bottom saucepan is where the metal is all throughout the pan, which apparently allows it to cook more evenly. (That answer still confuses me, and please comment to give clarity.) When trying to find this type of saucepan, some keywords to possibly look for are heavy-gauge and hard-anodized.

In addition to getting the pan, I went to 2 other stores to get the rest of the ingredients:

  1. Trader Joe’s
  2. Whole Foods

Making and Tasting the recipe

            Making the recipe was simple enough. Although a little prep work and stirring is required as specified in the directions, most of it is letting burner and pan do the work for you. An optional and classic garnish to this dish is pearl onions (Galvin 197). Despite a little cooking, you are kind of biting into them raw, which concerns me.

Although this recipe is a lighter version of Chicken Cacciatore, the sauce looks to be somewhat rich. As I tasted, it had a great heartiness to it from many of the ingredients, including the red wine. When my roommate wasn’t around, I was actually licking the sauce off the plate. Despite the concern about the pearl onions, it is a good garnish; having that crunch retained was refreshing with everything else being tender. In addition, the sweetness of the pearl onions and the onion in the sauce helped to balance the dish. The chicken was well-season though a little overcooked. That said, the goof-up was on my part than the recipe.

The recipe didn’t specify what mushrooms to use, and normally when a recipe does that, white button mushrooms are typically used (or least I think). However, that wasn’t the best decision. Even though it wasn’t bad, the mushrooms really didn’t offer anything beside bulk. In the future, I’ll probably use something like a crimini since it has an earthiness that may better compliment the heartiness of the sauce. In addition, I may swap the chicken breast with turkey breasts. Although it is starting to deviate from the recipe a bit, turkey has a gaminess that may add to the recipe while having the benefit of being a lean protein.

Nutrition Info:

Since this cookbook is focused on the healthy, it’s no surprise they have some nutrition info with almost each recipe. Since I am doing that myself with a different database than SparkPeople, I think it may be interesting to see how they compare. Like the recipes, they are available online, and I will post what I calculate for this test in a comment below.

At first, I was surprised by how low almost all the nutrients, especially the calories, were in the book and thinking, “How did they do that?” After my number crunching, the two were way off, as mine has almost 100 more than stated in the book. Still confused, I checked online, which they have info for both 6 servings and 4. The one for 6 is similar to the book with the one for 4 is closer to what I got for most of the nutrients. Despite the error, you’re still getting a great value for your nutrition buck with this recipe.

To look at the nutrition from SparkPeople, click on the link (for 4 servings) below:

–          http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-calories.asp?recipe=1486520

Rating:

On the website, they give recipe ratings out of 5. Thus, at least for this test, I will follow the same rating. For this recipe, I will give it a 4.5. I may tweak a few things, but that sauce was amazing!

If want to comment, critique, etc. feel free to post below and let me know what you know think.

References:

– Ellis-Christensen, Tricia. “What is Chicken Cacciatore?” WiseGeek. Ed. O. Wallace. 2013. Conjecture. 22 Mar. 2013 <http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-chicken-cacciatore.htm&gt;.

– Galvin, Meg, and Stepfanie Romine. “Chicken Breast with Red-Wine Sauce.” The SparkPeople Cookbook: Love Your Food, Lose the Weight. Carlsbad, CA: Hay House, 2011. 197.

– Galvin, Meg. “Calories in Chicken Breasts with Red Wine Sauce.” SparkRecipes. 22 Mar. 2013 <http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-calories.asp?recipe=1486520&gt;.

– Galvin, Meg. “Chicken Breasts with Red Wine Sauce.” SparkRecipes. 22 Mar. 2013 <http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=1486520&gt;.

7 Responses to “Chicken Breast with Red-Wine Sauce (The SparkPeople Cookbook)”

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

    • EatMe2 April 5, 2013 at 4:37 am #

      Thank you for the compliment, and I’m not sure how to describe the theme except for it wasn’t a paid one

  2. EatMe2 March 27, 2013 at 3:40 am #

    There is few things I want point out. First, under references, ignore the “&gt” at the end of the hyperlink. I’m sure why it’s doing that.

    2nd, as promised here is the nutrition info from my end.

    Per Serving:
    Calories – 274.6
    Fat- 9.1 g
    Cholesterol- 65 mg
    Sodium- 474.7 mg
    Total Carbohydrates- 16.4 g
    Dietary Fiber- 2.3 g
    Protein- 28.6 g

    If anyone from SparkPeople wants to chimes in on difference they notice, please do.

    Third, I’ll be doing this in later posts once I do price per unit, but were I to get all the ingredients (even bases), it would have cost me $33.74 (about 8.44 per serving). (Since I had some of the ingredients on hand, it drop the cost down to $24.99. (about $6.25 per serving)

  3. sugar cravings supplements July 6, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    My partner and I stumbled over here different page and
    thought I should check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

  4. tododiascom July 17, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I in finding It really helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I am hoping to present something back and help others such as you helped me.

    • EatMe2 November 6, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      Absolutely. With the RSS feed, I not sure how to do that. There’s still a lot I need to learn about blogging, such as that. More than happy for the compliment and feel free to help out.

  5. cheap juicers September 25, 2013 at 2:42 am #

    Simply wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity on your post is just excellent and that i can assume you are an
    expert in this subject. Well together with your permission
    let me to grasp your RSS feed to stay up to date with
    forthcoming post. Thanks one million and please carry on
    the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

